Stay hungry, stay foolish…don’t settle

“If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I’m about to do today”

“Whenever the answer is no for too many days in a row I know I need to change something”

“Work is going to fill a large part of your life and the only way to be truely satisfied is to do what you believe is great work”

“The only way to do great work is to love what you do, if you haven’t found it yet, keep looking, don’t settle”

These are just a few great quotes from Steve Jobs’ Stanford commencement speech. 

With those inspiring words in my head, today I took the brave, or perhaps foolish, decision to resign from my relatively new job.

I haven’t got another job lined up just yet and I’m not completely sure what my next challenge will be. All I do know is that I didn’t have the right challenge where I was or the chance to influence the change required to make a good business great.

I don’t want to be in a position where I’m taking a salary and not giving the most value back to that organisation or client. 

Where I cannot see how I contribute to the improved performance of the business.

I need the business to be aligned to my values and to be in a learning and continuous improvement culture. 

Surrounded by like minded peers who hold the agile and lean values dear.

I’ve learnt a lot over the last 4 months about my own personality and how this both supports how I work with others but more importantly the type of environment and challenge that will get the best out of me.
“The INTJ brain has two modes of operation: uninterested or utterly obsessed.” 
I don’t want to be uninterested. 

I’ve drawn up a prioritised backlog for future roles, always open to review and change though, in a very agile way:
Learning new things

Able to influence change

Working with like minded individuals

Able to receive mentoring

Able to create new and exciting products and experiences

Able to coach and mentor others

Able to collaborate with senior leadership

Central location

Fair renumeration

Clear career paths

Other considerations:

– is there agile/lean training?

– what’s the release cadence?

– is there a visible strategy?

– can I meet senior leadership?

– is how success is measured clear?

I’ve found it really useful to think about the things at work that are really important to me, the real intrinsic motivations that are often invisible or hard to specify.

 
I have leapt into the unknown, I now have 13 weeks to find a new role, although I’m much clearer on the type of challenge which will get the best out of me and in turn ensure I’m able to enthuse and inspire those around me.

If anyone wants a driven Agile Coach/Delivery Manager/Product Manager to help make a difference, embed a spirit of continuous improvement and a mindset of learning and experimenting to create amazing products and fun and fulfilling workplaces, I’m available.

Leave a Reply

